The United Nations’ Conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development, commonly called Habitat III, will be held in Quito, Ecuador, from 17 – 20 October 2016. The goal of this third conference is to “reinvigorate the global commitment to sustainable urbanization” and set new global standards for sustainable urban development.

I hadn’t heard about this conference until my roommate, who coincidentally has been to Quito, sent it to me via Nature magazine. I wish I was farther along in my career when attending would be feasible – hearing a global perspective (literally) on urban growth would be amazing. And the Habitat conferences only come along every 20 years.

I’m excited to hear what comes out of the conference. There’s already some great implementation plan commitments (search them here) at different level of scope, responsibility, topic, and location.

Anyone going to Quito next week (or know of anyone who is) who can offer some insights into what you’re expecting from the conference? If you’re not going, what would you hope to see come out of Habitat III?

Update October 17, 2016: Check out CityLab’s beginner’s guide to Habitat III.

Post-1.jpg

 

